Okay, I think I might have goofed a little.

Let’s get real for a second, I still stand by what I said about the opening episodes to Stranger Things. The show has a really slow start, and it’s just so boring. The characters are flat and lifeless and things just seem kinda bland.

That being said, it has been brought to my attention that I may have been a little too harsh on the show right from the outset.

For one thing, I’m a child of the 90’s, and the movies that the show is doing a throwback to weren’t ever in my viewing list. So it doesn’t ring true to some kind of nostalgia, there’s no emotionality already set up for me. There were also many good points made to me by both my fiancé and good friend, both of whom I find to be reliable when it comes to gauging whether some form of media is good or not. So the fact that we had differing opinions was concerning, not that we agree on anything, but I certainly felt like I knew what I was talking about.

But, like so many times in life, that doesn’t appear to be the case.

That being said, I plan on giving the show a rare second chance at the behest of my friends. Perhaps there is something greater that I’m missing, and there were more subtle things I glossed over in the first few episodes because I was bored. Jonathan might actually have some interesting character traits, and though I didn’t really like Winona Rider’s character at the outset, that might be because there’s some emotional baggage attached there, enough to obscure my judgment.

So that’s coming on the horizon. I’ve been really busy working and the Internet at work isn’t the best, meaning Netflix tends to freeze every few minutes watching on mobile devices and doesn’t start again for another few minutes, doubling the length of watching anything there. I need to make the time to go through the show, so I want to do that first before I say anything more on the show. I have since changed my judgment from “Worst show on Netflix hey look at this shocking title for views” to something more like “pending”. We’ll get to it.

In the meantime, people might be interested to know that I write other things besides rage-induced reviews of things and weird existential thoughts. In fact, I like to try my hand at the occasional fictional escape, and as such, I’ve started posting some things on Wattpad where I used to post some things years ago. If anyone cares, I’m posting the first few parts to a new little idea I’m working on. Nothing novel length, just a little short story. It’s got science fiction, it’s got romance, it’s got diverse characters, and some good mystery. No spoilers here (for once), so if you want to check it out, click that link below and go have yourself a look. Feel free to leave some critique, heaven knows I probably deserve it from all the trash I talk about other peoples’ work.

Check it out. Or don’t, no worries, I’m sure people are busy. But it’s free, and it will be fun to read, I promise. More to follow.

http://my.w.tt/UiNb/miDybOr7kv

